Dead Leader Running

Last night at homegroup we watched “Dead Leader Running” DVD by Wayne Cordiero. We watched it no more than a year ago, and after watching it again last night, I realized how easily I forget things. Especially things that I really need to remember!

So, here’s a simplified list of what Wayne shared about.
Perhaps print this out and stick it on your fridge, or even put it in your Bible.

And for husbands and wives, can I strongly suggest that if anything, we PUT INTO PRACTISE point number one.

Here we go:

Know what fills and drains your tank.

We all have an input and an output in life – what you put in is what you get out. And we need to know what fills and what empties our tanks.

Ask yourself:
Who am I spending time with?
What am I doing?
Where am I doing it?

The busier I am, the more I increase my input.
Take a sheet of paper and draw a line down the centre. At the top of the left hand column write FILLS MY TANK and at the top of the right hand column write DRAINS MY TANK.

Now list 5 things in each column.
Swap papers with your spouse, think of how you can FILL EACH OTHER’S TANK, and pray for each other for the week to come. At the end of the week evaluate how you are doing and then keep this list handy for future reference.

Understand balance in life.

The principle of the fulcrum.

Which means I move my heart closer to where God is pressing down in the areas of my life. If God is pressing in the area of my family on my heart, then I move my heart (fulcrum) closer to my family to maintain balance.

My family is my ministry, they are not two opposing forces.
I need to move my heart to where God is pressing in my life.

Learn to lead out of rest.

God created activity out of rest.
Your day begins when you go to sleep not when you wake up – Genesis reads, “It was evening and morning: the first day.”

When putting your year planner together, schedule in your leave breaks first.
Get to your diary before someone else does.
Sleep-in on the front side of the clock… As in, get to be early! Your deepest level of sleep is between 11pm and 3am so make sure you’re in bed well between this time.

Find a lightning rod.

Find someone you can talk to, and be yourself around; someone you can ‘off-load’ on and just get rid of all the issues that are bothering you.

And when you do share things with your, share from the side of victory. I.e.: “Babe, yesterday Bob and I had a huge argument,… BUT he called this morning and all has been resolved”.

Discipline in your daily devotions.

Find time in your day to spend with God, just you and Him. No cell phone. No distractions. Just you and Him.

s – scripture
o – observation
a – application
p – prayer

~ by jakesolivier on August 6, 2008.

2 Responses to “Dead Leader Running”

  1. this is a wonderful blogspot, rich and thoroughly enjoyable, so encouraging!!!

  2. Excellent, Shabalala!
    Great blog, Jakes – very applicable and ‘real’.
    Well played dude – keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

 
